Mikrokosmos by Baela Bartaok

Mikrokosmos is a book by Czech composer and music educator Béla Bartók. The collection of piano pieces in the book are progressive, each teaching a different musical concept and becoming increasingly difficult. Many of the pieces are based on folk melodies from Hungary and Romania.

Mikrokosmos by Baela Bartaok is a book about the world of microbes. It covers topics such as the history of microbes, their ecology, and their importance to human health. The book also includes information on how to culture and identify different types of microbes.

Bartok – Mikrokosmos (complete, with score)

Why Did Bartok Write Mikrokosmos?

Bartok wrote Mikrokosmos as a didactic work, intending it to serve as “a pedagogical aid for piano students of all levels of ability.” The work is divided into six volumes, each containing short pieces (most between one and two pages in length) which progress in difficulty from the first volume to the sixth. The first volume contains easy pieces, some of which Bartok described as suitable for children.

These pieces focus on basic technical skills such as finger exercises, scales, and arpeggios. The second volume introduces more complex rhythmic patterns and harmonies. The third volume contains pieces incorporating various meters, while the fourth introduces more challenging rhythms and irregular meter changes.

The fifth volume contains miniatures representing different styles such as Hungarian folk music, Baroque music, Romantic music, etc. The final volume consists of larger-scale works that incorporate all of the elements learned in the previous volumes. While Mikrokosmos was written with piano students in mind, it has also proven popular with amateur and professional pianists alike due to its inventive melodies and fascinating harmonic language.

How Many Years Did the Mikrokosmos Last?

The Mikrokosmos was a period lasting from 1923 to 1946. This time frame is associated with the rise of the Soviet Union and the Communist Party, as well as the country’s subsequent industrialization and collectivization under Joseph Stalin. The Mikrokosmos saw various changes in Soviet society, including an increase in education and literacy rates, as well as a decrease in poverty levels.

However, this period was also marked by political repression and human rights violations, such as forced labor camps and mass executions.

How Many Years Did the Mikrokosmos Works of Bartok Last?

Bartok’s Mikrokosmos consists of 153 progressive piano pieces divided into six volumes. The first volume was published in 1926, and the last in 1939. Bartok continued to revise the pieces until his death in 1945.

How Many Mikrokosmos are There?

There are 150 Mikrokosmos in total. Hungarian composer and pianist Béla Bartók originally conceived the work as a teaching aid to help his young students master the piano. The pieces progress in difficulty, starting with simple folk-like melodies and harmonies progressing to more complex pieces that incorporate advanced techniques such as chromaticism and counterpoint.

While many of the individual Mikrokosmos are quite short, some span several pages and require advanced technical skill to perform. Nevertheless, they remain accessible to less experienced players thanks to Bartók’s clear and concise writing style.

Mikrokosmos  by Baela Bartaok

Credit: www.woodbrass.com

Bela Bartok – Mikrokosmos Volume 1 Pdf

Bela Bartok’s Mikrokosmos is one of the most important piano pedagogical works of the 20th century. Written between 1926 and 1939, it is a collection of 153 progressive piano pieces in six volumes. The first volume, subtitled “For Children from Three to Six Years Old,” contains 26 short pieces.

These easy pieces are organized by technical element, such as finger exercises, arpeggios, scales, and chords. One of the goals of Mikrokosmos is to make complex musical concepts accessible to young students. For example, in “Finger Exercise No. 1,” Bartok uses only four notes (C-D-E-F) to introduce the concept of counterpoint.

In “Chord Study No. 2,” he uses just three notes (C-E-G) to demonstrate how different chord voicings can be achieved by changing the order of the notes. Despite its didactic purpose, Mikrokosmos is also a beautiful and expressive work that can be enjoyed by listeners of all ages. It is truly a microcosm of Bartok’s compositional style, which draws on elements of Hungarian folk music and Western classical music.


In her blog post, Baela Bartaok discusses the concept of “Mikrokosmos”, which she describes as “the world in miniature”. She explains that this term can be used to refer to both physical and mental objects, and offers several examples of each. For instance, she notes that a person’s thoughts can be considered their own personal Mikrokosmos, while a city can be seen as a Mikrokosmos within the larger world.

Bartaok goes on to discuss how the idea of Mikrokosmos can be applied to our understanding of the universe, and argues that it can help us to see the interconnectedness of all things.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *