Babylon’S Ashes by James S. A. Corey

Babylon’s Ashes is a science fiction novel by James S. A. Corey, the pen name of Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck. It is the sixth book in The Expanse series. The novel was published on December 6, 2016 by Orbit Books.

The book continues the story of the crew of the Rocinante as they deal with the fallout of events in the previous book, Nemesis Games. They also must contend with a new threat, that of Marco Inaros and his Free Navy, who are bent on wreaking havoc throughout human space.

The Expanse is one of my favorite book series, so I was really excited to read the latest installment, Babylon’s Ashes. The book did not disappoint – it was full of action, adventure, and political intrigue. The story picks up a few years after the events of the previous book, and the characters have all aged and changed in interesting ways.

I won’t spoil anything, but suffice to say that there are some surprises in store for readers. If you’re a fan of The Expanse or science fiction in general, I highly recommend picking up Babylon’s Ashes.

The Expanse Series Book 6 – Babylon's Ashes by James S A Corey

Why is It Called Babylon’S Ashes?

Babylon’s Ashes is the sixth book in The Expanse series by James S. A. Corey. It was published on December 6, 2016. The title of the book refers to the fall of the Babylonian Empire, which occurred after a long and brutal war with the Persians.

The Persian king Cyrus the Great conquered Babylon in 539 BC, and ended the empire’s rule over Mesopotamia. The event was a turning point in world history, as it marked the end of one of the most powerful empires of antiquity and ushered in a new era dominated by Persia. The title also references “ashes to ashes, dust to dust”, which is a phrase often used in funerals to symbolize the finality of death.

In this case, it reflects both the destruction of Babylon and its people, as well as their eventual demise (the city was eventually abandoned and forgotten).

In What Order Should I Read The Expanse Books?

The Expanse series, written by James S. A. Corey, is a science fiction series that follows the political struggle between Earth, Mars, and the asteroid belt in the 24th century. The books can be read in any order, but it is recommended to read them in publication order. The first book in the series is Leviathan Wakes, which was published in 2011.

It introduces the characters of James Holden and Miller as they investigate a conspiracy that could threaten all life in the solar system. The second book, Caliban’s War, was published in 2012 and continues the story of Holden and Miller as they try to stop an interplanetary war from breaking out. The third book, Abaddon’s Gate, was published in 2013 and sees humanity attempt to colonize space beyond the asteroid belt by opening a wormhole.

This goes horribly wrong, leading to Holden and his crew having to find a way back home. The fourth book, Cibola Burn, was published in 2014 and follows the colonization of Io after the events of Abaddon’s Gate. It also introduces a new character: UN Marine gunnery sergeant Bobbie Draper.

The fifth book, Nemesis Games, was published in 2015 and focuses on Earth as different factions vie for control after the events of Cibola Burn. It also sees Holden’s crew scattered across the solar system as they try to find their way back to each other. Babylon’s Ashes,the sixth book in the series ,was published 2016 .

It has Earth ,now under rule of UN ;beset by problems : overpopulation ,food shortages etc..A powerful protomolecule weapon has been stolen ,and someone is trying destroy suns . seventh novel Tiamat’s Wrathwas released on December 4th 2018 .

Is Babylons Ashes the Last Episode of The Expanse?

The answer is no, The Expanse will continue for at least one more season. Season 5 of The Expanse is currently in production and is expected to premiere in 2020. There are no plans to end the show after Season 5, so it’s safe to say that Babylon’s Ashes is not the last episode of The Expanse.

Is The Expanse Book Series Complete?

The Expanse book series is complete as of 2019. The ninth and final book, Persepolis Rising, was published in December of that year. The story follows the crew of the spaceship Rocinante as they travel across the solar system, get involved in a conspiracy, and ultimately save humanity from destruction.

The books have been praised for their complex plotlines, interesting characters, and detailed world-building.

Babylon'S Ashes  by James S. A. Corey


Babylon’S Ashes Chapter Summary

Babylon’s Ashes is the sixth book in The Expanse series, written by James S. A. Corey and published in 2016. The novel picks up the story about a year after the events of Nemesis Games, with the protomolecule-enhanced human superman Holden and his crew aboard the Rocinante still on their mission to find out what happened to Holden’s home world, Earth. While investigating a lead that takes them to Mars, they are caught in the middle of a war between Earth and Mars and must choose sides.

Meanwhile, on Earth, UN Secretary-General Chrisjen Avasarala is trying to keep the peace while also dealing with her own political enemies. The book alternates between viewpoints from Holden, Avasarala, Naomi Nagata (the engineer of the Rocinante), Alex Kamal (the Martian pilot), Bobbie Draper (a Martian marine), and Prax Meng (a botanist). Each character has their own storyline that eventually converges as the book comes to its climax.

Holden and his crew end up siding with Mars against Earth, partially because they have no love for Earth’s government after all that has happened to them at its hands. They also believe that Mars is fighting for survival against an overwhelming force, whereas Earth is simply trying to conquerMars for its resources. As always, Holden’s impulsiveness gets him into trouble and he ends up getting captured byEarth forces led by Admiral Nguyễn Jainna Hoque.

He is taken to a secret facility called Laconia where he meets other prisoners who have been experimented on by Hoque using the protomolecule. One of these prisoners is Mei Meng – Prax’s daughter who was kidnapped at the beginning of the book – who has been turned into some sort of proto-human/protomolecule hybrid monster. Avasarala meanwhile has been recalled back to Earth from her UN posting due to increasing political unrest caused by Inaros’ terrorist attacks using asteroids as weapons.

She quickly realizes that there is a power struggle going on behind the scenes between different factions within Earth’s government, with people vying for control in case all-out war does break out between Earth and Mars.


The crew of the Rocinante find themselves in the middle of a brewing revolution on Tycho Station, as they investigate the disappearance of a scientist who may have information about the protomolecule. Meanwhile, on Earth, Avasarala and Bobbie deal with the fallout of the UN’s defeat, while Naomi tries to figure out her next move.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *